The Herald Principal’s Song

For the occasion of Master Cormac’s vigil

Lady Angharat Goch verch Gwenhover wrote and performed (from memory, at speed!) this fabulous filk of The Major-General’s Song.  Reprinted here with her permission.

The Herald Principal’s Song

written and performed by Angharat Goch verch Gwenhover
(to the tune of The Major-General’s Song by Gilbert & Sullivan)

I am the very model of a Crescent Herald, principal,
I know of every charge be it a vegetable or mineral,
Every variety of living beast or monster mythical,
Symbolic representatives of bodies astronomical.
I know the proper ratios of all shapes geometrical,
Field divisions, horizontal, vertical, diagonal,
Lines of division, be they complicated or quite minimal,
Correct heraldic form of every emblazon imag’nible!
Correct heraldic form of every emblazon imag’nible! x4

I know my tinctures, too, of course, my metals and my furs as well,
I know which pairings work and which are just unregisterable,
In short in matters badge related, or devices personal,
I am the very model of a Crescent Herald, principal!
In short in matters badge related, or devices personal,
He is the very model of a Crescent Herald, principal!

I’m up on all the latest finds and all the extant treatises,
I’ve read the new rules seven times and all of the appendices,
I’ve memorized whole sections and can quote with regularity,
Each precedent dating back to Anno Societatus III,
I’m familiar with the naming patterns of the folk of Brittany,
The Welsh, the Huns, the Swedes, the Danes, the Greeks and Turks and Romany,
The Spanish, Polish, Flemish, English, Irish, Scottish, Germans, Franks,
In contexts Gaelic, Gallic, Gothic, Russian, Prussian, Persian, Manx!
In contexts Gaelic, Gallic, Gothic, Russian, Prussian, Persian, Manx! x4

I’m just as good with household names and names for territories new,
The nomenclature nicely crafted for your newly minted group,
In short in matters name related, be they group or personal,
I am the very model of a Crescent Herald, principal!
In short in matters name related, be they group or personal,
He is the very model of a Crescent Herald, principal!

In short I’m quite impressive with the knowledge in my arsenal,
I am the very model of a Crescent Herald, principal!
In short he’s quite impressive with the knowledge in his arsenal,
He is the very model of a Crescent Herald, principal!

Leave a Reply

